top of page

Another day on the farm

The pups started sleeping in the barn last night, Jinx and Fly chose to sleep out there with them to keep them safe and warm.

This winter is a tough one, I had to bring Gunther our Lamb and Broadway our Llama into the barn last night it got so cold. Early this morning our new baby goat 'Cleo' arrived so I put her in the barn too. The other two weren't happy at first, but she seems to have settled in quickly.

I also made some room in the barn for my chicks, peacocks, and rabbits. I know they have the hutch but I was worried about them. I haven't made it out to the duck pond yet, I'm hoping all the babies made it through the night.

I'm super happy to see all of their colors starting to come in. And look at that sneaky, brave mouse that snuck into the barn too.

My rabbits were happy to get their morning feed. They just love all the mixed berries and carrot snacks. They always eat them first.

Whew, all of the babies made it through the night. Their pond is frozen over but I'm happy they are all safe. They are getting their colors in. I have to say my favorite is Kirby, the black and fawn colored duckling <3 She wandered up to the house yesterday and... Shhh I let her in. She enjoyed checking out all of the stuff in our family room. I should have taken some pics.

After I visited the Ducks and gave them their food, we headed out to the pigs. They were happy to get their food. Thistle (Orange) & Frazzle (Gray & White) hate each other but both girls seem to like Smokey.

If I didn't know any better, I would think Smokey and Thistle were hiding and talking about Frazzle XD

We headed out to our Laptop Pony's field next. Our Wild Laptop friends were back! This time, they didn't run away. They stayed to take advantage of the free yummy food. Meg and Zero were not exactly thrilled...

On to the Cattle pasture. Our calves are getting big. I noticed one of the females looking a little.... fatter and waddling around. So I think we can expect a little baby calf here soon. Might move Button into the barn tomorrow so I can keep an eye on her and make sure her baby is born in a warm environment. Wouldn't last long in this weather.

***YESTERDAY***

*************

Next we let out Shetland Ponies spend some time in our Sheep pasture for a little bit since it's not being used right now and they needed to stretch their legs. Looks like Velvet is also expecting a baby soon...

***YESTERDAY***

**********

Yankee is their last baby, he was born in June of 2012 which makes him 4 years old now. He'll be 5 this year. So I think it's about time they had a second foal! We are excited!

So I think that's everyone, we're heading back inside to get warmed up now! See you in the next blog post!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page